NDCA Congratulates 2010 Award Winners

The National Debate Coaches’ Association congratulates the various award winners from its National Championships this past weekend. A complete list of the awards—provided by Nicole Serrano on behalf of the NDCA—is available below the fold.

Tournament Host of the Year – The Greenhill School (TX)

Aaron Timmons and Eric Forslund, and the whole Greenhill squad, were
recognized as the tournament host of the year for their Greenhill
Invitation season opener. This award is given by the NDCA Executive
Board to a tournament that provides quality competition, judging, and

NDCA Service Award – Tim Mahoney, St Mark’s School (TX)

Tim was also recognized for his incredible service to the debate
community by continuing to serve as the NDCA tournament director. He
works tirelessly to create this education experience for the entire

Educator of the Year – Bill Batterman, Marquette University High
School (WI) & Jon Cruz, Bronx High School of Science (NY)

With the majority of our NDCA members voting, there was a tie for Bill & Jon. Congratulations to both!

David P. Baker Award – Glenbrook South (IL)

Glenbrook South’s Will Thibeau and Richard Day won this award for
season-long excellence in policy debate. Congratulations to
coaches Tara Tate and Brian Peterson and to the whole GBS squad.

Dukes & Bailey – The Meadows School (NV)

Jordan Lamothe won the Dukes & Bailey Award for Season Long Excellence
in Lincoln-Douglas for the second year in a row. Congratulations to
coach Dan Meyers and the whole Meadows squad.

Public Forum Top Speaker

Glenbrook North (IL) – Stefanie Rubenstein

Public Form Champion

Bronx High School of Science (NY) – Thomas Lloyd and Katie Wong

Lincoln Douglas Top Speaker

The Blake School (MN) – Erik Legried

Lincoln Douglas Champion

Northland Christian School (TX) – Josh Roberts

Policy Top Speaker

The Kinkaid School (TX) – Layne Kirshon

Policy Champion

Bronx High School of Science (NY) – Zach Elias and Andrew Markoff